Comfort Food

Today we enjoyed one of my childhood favorites.  I’d never made it for my husband and he seemed to enjoy it.  It’s funny how food can bring back a flood of memories.  It’s generally these simple meals that I look back on fondly and choose to recreate.  Truly, how many people find relaxation in the preparation of a 6 course meal?  This one is quick and easy and quite frankly, on a bad day, you need a simple solution.  When I was young my mom could always count on a plate of Welsh Rarebit to warm me up from the inside out.  Even though summer isn’t yet over I enjoyed a plate of familiar comfort food and my honey and I cuddled on the couch and watched a movie.  The best part is that it’s a meatless meal since we only bought 2 lbs chicken for this week!  It was a great day off 🙂

Welsh Rarebit                                                          

2 oz butter

1 tsp spicy brown mustard

3/4 lb block of cheddar (I like Cabot’s sharp)

Melt butter in pan.  Mix in cheese and mustard.  Toast 6 pieces whole grain bread of muffins.  Heat broiler.  Pour cheese over toasted muffins.  Broil 3 minutes.  Serve and enjoy 🙂