Gazelle intense? A different perspective

Every morning in Africa, a gazelle wakes up.
It knows it must run faster than the fastest lion or it will be killed.
Every morning a lion wakes up.
It knows it must outrun the slowest gazelle or it will starve to death.
It doesn’t matter whether you are a lion or a gazelle.
When the sun comes up, you better start running.
-African Proverb

 

I had a good laugh today while reading over some Dave Ramsey info about being “gazelle intense” because this quote came to mind.  I guess I’ve always had difficulty, particularly as a Leo, envisioning myself as a gazelle.  I guess, according to this African wisdom, it doesn’t matter 🙂  I know though that recently I’ve been feeling like we’ve been chasing some slow gazelles and that DH and I could make some more radical choices to do things faster.  I guess it depends on how much sacrifice we want to make in our current lives and current pleasures to prepare for the future.

It’s a difficult question to answer, partly because it’s such an individual choice.  But also because nobody in our real lives really wants to talk about it.  TV, internet, car payments, credit card bills… it’s a way of life for our coworkers.  Pricy meals out just because are nothing to them.  They lament about the things they don’t have and take for granted the things they buy everyday.  Sometimes DH and I go weeks without spending at all.  It’s our way of life but it’s so uncommon among our peers, coworkers and friends that sometimes it feels a bit lonely.

Sometimes it concerns me that our efforts to live like no one else will isolate us from everyone else.

